Skip to content

Where to Begin?

May 10, 2009

So what interested you about Tekken? Was it the beautiful looking graphics, maybe it was the storyline, maybe it’s the fun combos, or maybe you’re just a fighting game enthusiast that wanted to give a new game a try. So for whatever reason you’ve decided to pickup and try and learn Tekken, you just can’t seem to find where to begin? Well that’s why I’m here to help you out.

Unlike the Tekken 5 series, Tekken 6/BR wasn’t officially released in the United States of America, thus dedicated arcade owners had to order them from independent oversea distributors. Which means less arcade cabinets/boards of the game, meaning less people in the scene. Some have to drive 5-6 hrs to get to their nearest arcade and pay 1.50 USD to play ONE GAME, so it’s not really practical for them. Though it’s never a bad idea to get a head start before console version is released.

Picking a Character
Like any fighting game, the first thing you’d want to do is select a character. Tekken now has over 40 (if you count Panda, hehe) playable characters!

null
So many to choose from… who to pick?

In BR, any character can win. You might want to experiment with characters for a bit until you find a one you like. Once you find yourself a character you do like, then from there you should definitely stick with that character until you learn the in-and-outs about him/her and the game.

This is one of the main problems I see with new players, rather then taking the time to learn everything they can from the game, they rather blame their character and switch to another, and another, and another.  Never really learning anything just trying to land juggles all day. You have to realize you must learn “FUNDAMENTALS” of the game first, there are so many variables to consider before you can even start to see some improvement.

Tekken Notations
Okay the next thing you would probably want to do is familiarize yourself with the notations/commands used amongst the english speaking Tekken community. There’s a “legend” tab on TekkenZaibatsu.com (tz.com) where it lists most of the notations we use. (Please refer over to the “dictionary” tab up top in the near future, where I’ll go over this in more detail. Though that legend should be good enough for now.)

Fundamentals
COMBOS DON’T MAKE YOU GOOD! A lot of people get into Tekken because of the fancy combos, because sure, they look cool; but new players totally miss the point when it comes to fundamentals. What good are combos if you can’t even get the launch? There’s a lot more to learn in this game then getting combos down.

Some of the things I’m going to go over in the “fundamentals” section are:

  • Block Punishing
  • Whiff Punishing
  • Spacing
  • Throw Breaking
  • Picking up on your opponent’s tendencies

So these are a couple things to look forward to that I will be covering. I’ll soon add a contact on my “about” section, where I’ll try and answer all of your questions.

Still getting things setup. That’s it for now, ta-ta.

– MYK

67 Comments leave one →
  1. enigmablak permalink
    May 14, 2009 10:53 am

    yeah maybe I did sound a lil condescending and Ill apologize like i said it was a misunderstanding I give SDT its propsmulitple times SOOOORY guys !!!!!!!!!!! but Im still gonaa kick your ass !!!!!!!!LOL and no I dont want to prove anything!!!!! but I’m still gonna kick your ass!!!!!! LOL…… I like having the ugliest monster now!!!!!

  2. enigmablak permalink
    May 14, 2009 11:14 am

    (revision ) on the sound bites……. its the second hit after the intial launch…..theres two different sounds a long grunt and a short one for each character check it out ……. if you dont hear it then ill shut up for good …But ill put money on it!!!!!….. one comes after a hard attack and the other after a mildly strong one

  3. enigmablak permalink
    May 14, 2009 11:23 am

    an easy example is the Mishima EWGF juggle try it at different variations like ewgf ewgf ewgf or ewgf wgf and see the difference……. or laser cannon lasor cannon when they are different heights or hit variables they make a certain sound bite…..!!!!!!!! (the launched character receiving the punishment) there will be two different distinct sounds …. a grunt and a longer one …….. every character has it…..!!!!!!!!! and depending one which one usually is the variable combo length…… just test it….

    • Inserity permalink
      May 14, 2009 8:43 pm

      Dude, the sound bites have nothing to do with actual gameplay. The grunts and noises from the characters differ because the makers of the game wanted to vary the sound, so the same sound/grunt doesn’t play every single time a certain move comes out.

      Any Tekken player should be able to play the game without sound. It shouldn’t effect your performance.

      And hey I’ll answer one question of yours, as far as the bound thing goes. You can only bound once in a combo. Unless you reach a floor break, in which the floor break initiates another bound. So really, you could end up bounding twice, but only via the floor break. If you saw videos of multiple bounds in one combo without a floor break, it was probably a beta video.

      And btw MYK, great site. I’m looking forward to the updates and podcast.

  4. May 14, 2009 8:47 pm

    Dude.

    Dude…. what the hell did I just read.

  5. fast_handsCODY permalink
    May 14, 2009 8:55 pm

    this is such a great read
    and good shit myk
    make me want to play

  6. Ace R. permalink
    May 14, 2009 9:14 pm

    Yo enigmablak.. First of all you keep saying you beat SDT members Cyndane and Galen. You get a big SLULZ. Those 2 guys are some of our NEWEST members and they are still learning the game. Congratulations you beat noobs. Hooray go eat your cookie.

    Maybe one day you’ll play some of us old school SDT heads so you can get decimated. Actually I think our top new school players would take care of you easily. And I’ll put money on it.

    K thx bai

    • |Galen| permalink
      September 13, 2009 2:44 pm

      Hmmm… Second of all, he beats me 1 out of 5 at most. That’s not exactly beating someone. I do recall I have beaten people like Ace R. (let me leave out the fact that he was only going to use the 1 button) or USMCOgre (let me leave out the fact that he answered his phone half way though the match and just started jabbing) Enigma could be a good player if he dropped his trash talk and picked up the game. He needs some friendly competition and has a lot further to go than I do to be a good Tekken player.

  7. Roy permalink
    May 14, 2009 9:17 pm

    Bruh if he hit you with that EWGF with the long sounding grunt bruh that means you get the sick nasty 3 EWGF into Laser Sizzler into bizound

  8. May 14, 2009 9:24 pm

    or he can just play the youngest of the old school and get decimated.

    I’ll be happy to play you for money. Name the amount, FT10. I’ll show you the difference in skill.

    Nice job MYK on the site, looks good.

  9. enigmablak's mom permalink
    May 14, 2009 9:48 pm

    Please disregard my son’s blabbering non-sense. I’ve dropped him when he was a baby. Unfortunately, he doesn’t have a grasp on common sense so anything that comes out of his mouth will sound retarded to many of you but please forgive him. It’s not his fault that he has a lot of time with his hands. I’ve told him to do something productive instead of making retarded comments but to no avail. Sometimes, I wonder if I should have given him up for adoption. His stupidity beyond belief amuses me. Again, I apologize on behalf of my retarded son. I’ll make sure that he’ll refrain from making such posts and have him focus on online games such as Tekken DR Online. Good day to you all.

  10. enigmablak permalink
    May 14, 2009 10:09 pm

    yeah you can play without sound of course ….and I saw one combo and youtube….oh neva mind inserity said just once now correct…… beta is the flawed version………. so that ground uppercut that sends them into a bound cant be used in conjunction with a previous bound after consectutive hits from an earlier string……ex..(ewgf ewgf -1,2,(some new move that sends them bounding..name idk)… 3ring circus, (nm after he flys in the air with the drop k -it sends the opponent bounding(the names idk)….. if anyone knows the names of these new moves please tell me….!!!!!!!!! so I can get caught up!!!1!or were i can find out the (names) of the newer moves…..can it be linked …… or is this just beta6.0 no BR

  11. enigmablak permalink
    May 14, 2009 10:12 pm

    exactly what are the technicallities of the new improved bound system over from 6.0…..full in depth overview please……..

    • May 14, 2009 10:20 pm

      Sit tight and wait for updates, not like it’s coming out to console tomorrow. I will go over it when time comes.

      Please learn how to read, because I clearly said anymore posts from you will result in a banning. And for the love of god, learn how to use a PARAGRAPH.

      scrub.

  12. ninjacody permalink
    May 14, 2009 10:42 pm

    spam…

  13. tekkurai permalink
    May 15, 2009 12:58 am

    Props to all the Tekkenheads for droppin’ by and owning this guy, lol. The one thing I can almost relate to, and may even go over later on in depth, is audio cues. I definitely play better with audio cues in every fighting game I play. This is an extreme one-of-a-kind example for Mishimas, but the difference between a “Doriya” and a “Toh!” is pretty big. It HELPS(not dependent on it, but it helps) me confirm hit or block for a lot of quick-paced exchanges. Other than that… yeah, all eyes.

    I’m thinkin’ of flyin out to Super so I can get in on some of this free money I hear is going to be flying. O_o

  14. Fog9 permalink
    May 15, 2009 11:50 am

    imaa be in la this weekend for some br! hope to get some games in.

  15. stainless permalink
    May 19, 2009 8:19 am

    Nice website. Why not make comments require approval before posting to the website? That way you cut out spammers.

  16. Galen permalink
    September 12, 2009 2:26 pm

    Ummmm… I think Enigma needs to rephase his story. we did a first to 10 with me usig Ling and it was 10-0 me then me using Nina and it was 10-0 and then I started going random nd lost a few time … Just figured that should be put out there… He talks more shit than he can back up and swears up and down that I were ofline he would dominate… his movement is mediocre ad his spacing isn’t great. Enigma

  17. enigmablak permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:16 pm

    bullshit Galen I kicked your ass 5 times outta 6 at first and we played like 40 matches you only won when you swtched to Ling and you won like 17 the final score was like 40-23 me on top we played like to 3-4 in the morning on a Sunday…..And again on like to 35 the next day…I’ll be back in January…i’m in Afghan right now…. I put money on this!!!!!!!! plus on top of that Galen you called me and I called back…. My P.S network has that message… Next Yeah I decimated you….. I only shit talk when I win if I lose I give props…. I gave you your props…. but you still can’t beat me…. Tekken 6 comes out next month you’ll have a slight advantage until I get back…. If you can’t beat diggs-86 then you definitely can’t beat me….. EWGF’s are over rated… only 50 damage if in combo of three there’s alot of better combos out there with more damage….

  18. enigmablak permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:21 pm

    also how is my movement shakey when I can wave dash like crazy ….you only had one combo with Ling…. and if that is side stepped or parried it opens you up to the juggle everytime…. oh yeah everyone that plays you should know that!!!!!!! Miss the third hit on the combo and your toast…. Yeah I toyed with you at first but after you pissed me off on the ground sweeps then i killed you… Or ask ya man diggs-86 and see what he has to say….. I would love to hear his opinion!!!!!

  19. enigmablak permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:27 pm

    and galen no one has ever beaten me 10 and 0….the only time that had ever happened is when i first began to use Devil Jin and I was getting my mechanics down…. Besides that noone has ever beaten me 10-0 especially not you…your skill level is not good enough to beat me 10-0….. maybe 5-4 or even a 3-5 but 10-0 hahahahaha….. if you beat me that much then you wouldn’t have called me to say good games…. plus when you weren’t winning then you switched characters…. but i have ya saved on my ps3 so i can always find you …..

  20. September 21, 2009 10:59 pm

    This shit needs to stop guys. Seriously, if you two have some beef with each other take it to your own e-mails. Don’t be arguing over some bullshit online matches no one gives two fucks about, especially on a site where people come to learn a little thing or two about Tekken. This isn’t a forum or discussion board for people to be flaming on.

    Enigmablak, the point of being banned on one IP address is to not cause trouble again. I don’t understand how you can come back and cause the SAME PROBLEMS that has caused you to get banned before.

    I will be deleting these irrelevant comments in a day, so take it to your e-mails. No one gives a fuck about some shitty DR-Online matches, and also no one else needs to read the typical PSN/XBOX LIVE hate-mail bullshit on this site. This is both for you Galen and Engimablak, I don’t want to see no more of this bullshit on my site. First and final warning. I will delete all posts of you both if this continues, and will result in a banning.

  21. Behinime permalink
    February 22, 2010 6:35 pm

    Nice website!
    Where can I find these fundamentals? or where can I read how to poke and then go into a combo (if thats even possible)?

Trackbacks

  1. Where to Begin? (part 2) « I AM TEKKEN

Leave a Reply

