Skip to content

Level Up Your Game! Tournaments

May 11, 2009

This past Saturday on May 9, 2009 I held a tournament for only the new up-and-coming players. My idea behind this was pretty simple, build up the scene from the ground up. I wanted this to start encouraging new players who usually shy away from the regular tournaments, because they believe “Omg, all the players in here are better than me. No point in entering if I’m going to lose.”

So basically I decided to hold this tournament so it’d be on an even playing field for the new players. Due to the small scene right now, we were only able to get 10 players. Though it was a small tourney, some matches were very close and down-to-the-wire.

The format of the tournament was just like any other tournament. Clock is set to 60 seconds, 3 rounds a match, 2/3 games versus your opponent, and double elimination (meaning if you lost in your best of three to one of your opponents in winners bracket, you get a second shot from losers.)

Now here are the results from the tourney (full results coming soon):
1) RELAX! [N8] (Baek)
2) Sh@dow (Yoshi/Raven)
3) Fog9 (Roger Jr.)
4) Eric (Law/Jack-6)

You can check out some of the matches here on N8’s Youtube channel. Unfortunately not all the matches in the tournament were recorded, due to the battery running out.

I think I’ll try and hold these tournaments once a month, so if you’re from the Socal area and want to “LEVEL UP” come out to these tournaments. I’ll make a post on when I’ll be holding the next one.

Also I’m going to try and talk to some of the other top players from different regions and see if they are willing to do the same thing. Gotta start establishing the scene early on :). It’d be cool to have something like LUYG! (Socal), LUYG! (Norcal), LUYG! (NYC), etc…

Special thanks to Suiken for helping me run/get people to sign up for this tourney.

-MYK

ps: I’m trying to get a podcast thing setup at the moment, but I’m in need of a GOOD quality microphone that’s affordable as well. If you’ve got any suggestions, please… well ugh, suggest.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. QueenWasp permalink
    May 11, 2009 11:04 am

    This is really cool, I love this idea of tourneys for people like me who do not have any tournament experience. I’m more than willing to journey down to SoCal for this from central CA. This is a great move to expand the community and I really appreciate it. Way to go Myk!

  2. enigmablak permalink
    May 11, 2009 3:36 pm

    yea this is cool man !!!!!!!!! im looking for good competition in the socal area i heard of sd tekken but never played anyone from it except Galen SDT i’m a devil jin player ….anybody want to add me as a friend I lost my rank while being deployed but my ps3 profile is enigmablak I was a master in under two weeks …..but anyway i ususally play with diggs-86 …..add me for quality matches….. holla

  3. Relax! [n8] permalink
    May 11, 2009 9:03 pm

    MYK, what did you think of those two I suggested in the thread? Should be pretty decent (and affordable) for a podcast.

    • May 11, 2009 11:06 pm

      Trying to see what other options I have.

  4. Blood Hawk permalink
    May 11, 2009 11:30 pm

    I had this idea for NYC back in DR but we didn’t have enough people to make it work. Maybe now though since we have an influx of new players.

    Nice to see it working for Socal though.

  5. KuraiRyan permalink
    May 12, 2009 2:18 am

    Moving on, excellent idea dude! I plan on doing the same thing once BR hits console… unfortunately we don’t have a cab in MA. I’ve been wowing some of the locals with my commentary on how shit-easy Street Fighter is on execution, so they’ve gotten very curious about Tekken.

    I’ve had lots of people ask if I could teach them once the game comes out, but I’m worried if I just keep beating the snot out of beginners, they’ll think it’s no fun and quit. This seems like an excellent solution, though! Make sure you’re coaching the ‘grasshoppers’ and making little suggestions to help them move along, while still learning things on their own as well.

    The more questions they ask, the better! Also, IM me once you get that mic – let’s test out Vent/Skype.

  6. jermell_taylor permalink
    May 12, 2009 7:24 am

    when’s the next one going down !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • May 12, 2009 2:28 pm

      The next one should be some time in June. I’m quite busy early that month because of finals, but I’ll post up the date when the next one will be.

      As for regular tournaments, you should come out to Super Arcade this Saturday at 1211 Grand Ave, Walnut CA to participate.

      • tekkurai permalink
        May 13, 2009 2:03 am

        I’d stop by, but I’m on the other end of the country. πŸ˜€

  7. hellomrbrahms permalink
    May 13, 2009 7:19 am

    testing. more luyg

  8. 0kills permalink
    May 14, 2009 2:53 am

    nice πŸ˜€ this is something other places don’t have.

    anyway, think you can make the background er… lightblue? white’s too bright T_T

    • May 14, 2009 10:21 pm

      Haha, I can’t. Maybe turning down the brightness on your monitor?

      • 0kills permalink
        May 15, 2009 5:11 am

        i’ve seen all devastation event vids, i now know the faces of kane, true, leoC, et. al.

        are you the one with the white cap? I plan to do a psychological study on good looks and gaming ability 5 years from now.

      • May 15, 2009 11:04 am

        lol, that’s interesting, though I don’t think there’s any relation with looks and gaming skill. White shirt, blue cap in the banner, that’s me.

  9. May 14, 2009 6:59 am

    i think i saw that NY tried to do something like this, but there were pride issues with some players that should’ve entered, but didn’t bc they took exception to being classed as such. i also read an interesting argument suggesting that substantive improvements would not occur within this structure– that whoever the best among the noobs was would keep winning with their “stronger” noob tactics.

    i suppose the play environment is the x-factor in this equation though. the underlying logic behind the NY Noob Tournament experiment revolves around an inherently northeast competitive gaming mentality. hopefully your better players will take a more active interest in mentoring your new blood, help direct their energy and curiosity, and encourage their development.

    GL and i look forward to seeing how the CA Noob Tournament experience evolves its participants later down the road.

    • suikenuser permalink
      May 15, 2009 5:39 pm

      Some of our advance players watch, and we take the time to sit and talk to our new players in which ways they can improve there game, also we have special exercise’s that we give them to work on “back dashing” “spacing” and “throw braking”. They also get a chance to see there old tourny vids and see what mistakes could have been avoided and miss “key” punishes. It’s really good that you pointed this out and with that I thank you.

  10. Sjinzero permalink
    May 15, 2009 1:18 pm

    @MYK –
    Hey, after seeing this I really want to do something like it for the northern Florida area. I just have a few questions:
    1) How did you advertise? I mean I know TZ is the first place to start. We can put posters up. But what about the people who play the game who aren’t on TZ or won’t be near places that would have the announcement? Just word of mouth?

    2) How did you control the tournament so no advanced players were competing? Most of the bigger names in Florida I know, but there is often the lone person who comes from nowhere and is good. Would you have judges watching?

    Thanks

    • May 16, 2009 2:25 am

      1) For the most part it was through word of mouth, and secondly it was through TZ matchfinder forums. Usually I drop by the arcade after school and see a handful of new players, so I told them they should come out to tournaments, but of course it’s a bit discouraging to them if they go 2-0, so I decided to hold one of these just for them.

      2) Well I know most of the players in my scene pretty well, so I knew who were the top players or not. Basically if someone places top 8 consistently, then they of course wouldn’t be in the LUYG tourneys.

      πŸ™‚

      • Sjinzero permalink
        May 16, 2009 12:39 pm

        Thanks for the advice.

        I just believe I had a hand in killing the NE Florida scene, so now I want to try and get it back.

  11. suikenuser permalink
    May 15, 2009 5:41 pm

    Level Up Your Game! Tournaments is now extended to NYC players.

  12. 0kills permalink
    May 15, 2009 6:05 pm

    whoa ppl helping each other. actually helping each other >_> that’s so different from here lol.

  13. ())_CRAYOLA_))> permalink
    May 16, 2009 5:33 am

    Bi-weekly LUYG’s, please.

  14. SolRahlX permalink
    May 17, 2009 6:54 pm

    Man I wish I lived close to these tourneys. I have played Tekken since 1995, but I’ve never sat down and tried to “learn” the game like I have with Street Fighter and Virtua Fighter, even though I enjoy Tekken more.

    I’ve frequented the TZ website over the years just lurking. I’m kinda intimidated and fear that I’ll get flamed for asking certain questions. When do you plan on expanding to your website?

    I’ve got this place book marked for sure. I practice T5 DR and TDR everyday and even my gameshop here has a T5DR machine, no Tekken 6. Georgia sucks so bad when it comes to arcades.

  15. Enigmablak permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:59 pm

    I’m in afghanistan right now I’m down for any tekkenites who would like to do battle….. I’ll be in cali soon on vacation but will hopefully finishing up for good so I’ll be in Ga as well traveling back and forth….Yo Markman( and Galen too) I didn’t flake out homie I got called for work at the last minute like that thurday and I had to be gone on a Saturday…. I would love to make a name for myself with the element of suprise….. I’ma start recording my skill level or matches against others….. (only the good ones)Seriously I’m thinking of opening up a game spot or game arena for the gamers….If there are any serious inquiries email me at jermell_taylor@yahoo.com….Yo markman why not just try to open ya own arcade and tournament spot…. east coast is cheaper …. If you have a business plan I’m down for it… But i still want my first to 20… I haven’t forgot….

  16. Krat permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:56 pm

    Do you know of any events happening in Scotland or even the U.K.?

Leave a Reply

