Skip to content

LUYG! Tournament Announcement 6/13

June 2, 2009

Hello there newcomers of the Socal Tekken scene. It’s that time again and this is my announcement to you guys!

On the Saturday of June 13, I’ll be hosting a LUYG! tournament for newcomers only. So here’s the specifics:

– Start time at 3pm
– Will be held at Super Arcade: 1211 Grand Ave, Walnut CA
– $5 entry fee. Payouts at the end will be split 70/20/10 amongst the top 3 competitors.
– Double Elimination

If you’ve been wanting to get better at this game and have been playing at either Super Arcade/Vid94 in the Socal area, please come out and see how you fair against your local competition.

Rules for the tournament:

– 2/3 games vs. your opponent. 3/5 games in grand finals.
– 3/5 rounds.
– Stick with one character, unless you lose then you may switch.
– Random Stage Select (unless both opponents have agreed upon a stage)

I’ve also been talking to one of the local players, Suiken, and we have come with an interesting project that will be tied in with these LUYG! tournaments. Keep on the look out for the update! 🙂

– MYK

An update regarding the site: I’ve been a little busy lately, and one more week until finals. Which means I haven’t had much time to work on this site as of yet, I’m mostly going to try and finish the “System” page up top as detailed as possible, but won’t have time til after June 12th so hope for some major updates the following weeks.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. suikenuser permalink
    June 3, 2009 2:39 pm

    Train up, a storm is coming guys..

  2. jay permalink
    June 3, 2009 6:40 pm

    theres no need to signup?

    • uui permalink
      June 3, 2009 9:58 pm

      signups is usually done right before the tourney starts, so come early!

  3. TRUE! permalink
    June 4, 2009 1:44 pm

    I say that if N8 wins again he won’t be allowed to enter any more LUYG

    • suikenuser permalink
      June 5, 2009 4:06 am

      As part of the LUYG, I talked to MYK about this if N8 happens to win again he will get thumbs up to start showing up to the Big Boy Tournys but im sure everyone is going to be gunning for him this tourny.

  4. June 4, 2009 10:40 pm

    am i considered a new comer?

  5. Relax... permalink
    June 5, 2009 4:04 am

    I didn’t intend to enter since I won the previous one.

    • June 5, 2009 3:06 pm

      Whoa, hella cocky. Can I enter with a different character? Maybe Julia or Hwoarang?

  6. Relax... permalink
    June 5, 2009 9:54 pm

    I didn’t mean for that to sound cocky of me. I just figured it was how this event went down. Person who wins would be not be able to sign up for the next one.

    But, if it’s cool, I’ll definitely enter. Sorry, if I came off as cocky.

    I definitely know I’m nowhere near the level of building up an ego, lol.

    • June 6, 2009 12:28 am

      Talked with Suiken about it,
      and we’ll cap it at 2 LUYG! tourneys.

  7. hellomrbrahms permalink
    June 6, 2009 4:31 am

    can I enter with maybe like bryan?

  8. [Ken] permalink
    June 7, 2009 11:15 am

    Yeah we’ll be gunning for N8 alright. I know where he lives, just give me the word and he won’t be joining anymore tournies!

    I hope I don’t even have to say this but jk

  9. QueenWasp permalink
    June 10, 2009 12:45 am

    Good luck with your finals MYK…

  10. 0kills permalink
    June 12, 2009 12:41 am

    MDJ?

  11. tekkurai permalink
    June 13, 2009 12:15 am

    Wish I could come enter. =P

Leave a Reply

