Skip to content

MYK’s Tekken Time Podcast Episode #5 featuring Suiken

November 17, 2009

Now back to the regularly scheduled program. Today I bring onto the show, Suiken, one of the top players in Socal who mains Lei Wulong.

In this episode we cover:

  • Changes for Lei from DR to T6, then T6 to BR (console version)
  • Aftermath of the recent ActiverGamersLA’s Triple Threat Tournament
  • Upcoming tournaments that we’re looking forward too

Pretty good show ready for you guys today, hope you guys enjoy it.

Photo Credit:  Kineda

Listen

Subscribe

null

Download

MP3 – 1:10:30 – 64.6 MB
(Right Click “Save Target As” or “Save Link As”)

Mirror

Download

ActiveGamersLA: Triple Threat Tournament Top 8 Recorded Stream

Check it out here, starts from around 56:00 minutes in. Thanks to Aris/FilthieRich for the commentary, even if you didn’t like Tekken you will like the great commentary from these two.

Update: 11/17/09

Suiken and I have met up with an ActiveGamers staff member today, and we’d like to inform you guys that they stayed true to their word. These guys are legit, we’ll be working with them to hopefully get a great series of tournaments for the near future. 🙂

17 Comments leave one →
  1. imlinked permalink
    November 17, 2009 10:43 am

    That sucks… activegamers jipping you guys out of the prize money. Having a basketball/volleyball games going on at the same time sounds retarded.

    I didn’t get to hear the podcast that myk did with prior activegamers (am I imagining this?) because I could’ve sworn it was on the site one day and gone the next. Will it be possible to listen in on that?

    • November 17, 2009 1:31 pm

      As soon as that episode was up, I was contacted by activegamers’ employees soon afterwards, requesting for me to take it down. Sorry, but I don’t think it’ll be back up.

      • imlinked permalink
        November 17, 2009 6:51 pm

        Bleh, that sucks. It sounds pretty shady how they didnt have money reserved specifically for the “gauranteed” pot money and later claim they didnt have enough players. I’m sure if there were more players than the $2200 pot, they would’ve kept the remaining $.

        Guess it was all a marketing gimick.

        BTW, when are you guys releasing the next video podcast? Looking forward to it.

  2. mamrk permalink
    November 17, 2009 11:50 pm

    Great pcast as usual. I have only one question about it… whats the song you used in the intro?!? I’ve had the beat playing in my head all day.

  3. god permalink
    November 18, 2009 12:33 am

    i like how u posted that fake after comment how they didnt lie man. u should just tell the truth MYK dont sell out to activefaggots

    • November 18, 2009 1:31 am

      Supporting the community in hopes of having better tournaments in the future is not selling out. Activegamers is getting a lot of shit for this tourney, though you got to cut them SOME slack.

      Suiken and I addressed both the goods and the bads, Suiken even said in this podcast that he didn’t think they would pay us the difference they owed us. Until we met up with one of them today, and sure enough they know they messed up BIG TIME and payed us the remaining amount that was missing at the day of the tournament.

      I’m not posting bullshit here, like I said they are trying to repair as much of the damage as possible, though a lot of the damage is already done. Though I believe they deserve both positive and negative feedback, well you know some constructive criticism. These guys lost a lot of money from this event, and they are willing to work with the community (at least the Tekken community) to help fix these problems for better tournaments for all fighting games in the future.

  4. bryan permalink
    November 18, 2009 3:49 am

    audio quality is vastly better! great!

  5. Super_Yan permalink
    November 18, 2009 9:43 am

    “DOUBLE TROUBLE” man that is the gayest shit I’ve ever heard. I’m just kidding. Well, half-kidding… Good luck at NCR!

  6. Pinno permalink
    November 18, 2009 1:33 pm

    Hey mike, I was wondering maybe the next show if you can get an og player like calipower and talk about the history of the og tekken scene.

  7. Suiken!! permalink
    November 18, 2009 1:47 pm

    Don’t worry Pinno, myk has a list of guest line up, and they will feature old school players!

  8. Yoshimattsu permalink
    November 20, 2009 1:45 pm

    I really love what you’re doing!! It shows how much fun it must be to live in a thriving Tekken community… Really makes me wish I lived in Cali. I need some Tekken friends.

  9. Deathbybears permalink
    November 22, 2009 4:05 pm

    Yo, congrats on the W over at the ActiveGamers tourny. A while back, before dr was released on the ps3, I went to super once in a while to stomp on Kane. I’m over at UC Riverside and haven’t played seriously for a bit considering that college is owning me, but I picked up Tekken 6 and damn excited by it. Where do you guys usually play? Shoot me an email, I need some comp.
    -Jason

  10. November 23, 2009 2:34 am

    lol at aris with the stream.

    cambodians, filipinos, indians, basketball players, women, france…

  11. November 23, 2009 2:52 am

    aris is racist. lol!!!!!!!

    “used to be filipino, now your black” lolololol

  12. Tea permalink
    November 23, 2009 10:46 pm

    Lol @ the picture of Suiken, reminds me of that dwarf from the movie Willow. Great job on getting 2nd Suiken, Your repping for us Cambodians real hard

  13. kris permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:42 am

    Can we have a really good nina player on the show :D?

Trackbacks

  1. Kolejny podcast I AM TEKKEN « Backdash

Leave a Reply

