Skip to content

Avoiding the Puddle Episode #8

September 24, 2010



Its been a while since the last episode, but without further a do we bring to you the SBO recap episode, episode 8! No guest on this episode, but Aris has recently returned from his trip to Japan for SBO/TGS over the weekend. Aris talks about his SBO10 experience, along with a bunch of other topics with MYK, and with one of the biggest announcements in the Tekken scene as-of-late, Tekken Tag Tournament 2!

For any suggestions on topics you guys would like Aris and MYK to cover, send them to:

contact@iamtekken.com

Also be sure to subscribe to Avoiding the Puddle’s youtube channel here.

Listen

Subscribe

null

Download

MP3 – 51:20 – 47.1 MB

(Right Click “Save Target As” or “Save Link As”)

Mirror

Download

67 Comments leave one →
  1. martin milz permalink
    September 27, 2010 11:34 am

    sup aries mike i have a question im a pad player but after i heard avioding the puddle #8 i really thought about what you said not the gay part though hehe but the fact that you cant go japan and play on the arcades ofc you can but just to get fucked up by the japs but have a tekken 6 hori fight stick but many sayes that after a month of beating it would break so my question is wich fighting stick would you recommend

  2. ImzSoAWSUM permalink
    September 27, 2010 11:35 am

    hey aris I know at arcade infinity they basically made cabinets with ps3’s inside to run ssf4 on arcade. Maybe the same will be done to mvc3. just putting in my 2 cents

    BTW great podcast and do you know if any vids from SBO will be available?

  3. September 27, 2010 11:41 am

    sup aries mike im a pad player but after i heard avioding the puddle #8 i really thought about what you said not the gay part thought hehe but the fact that you cant go to japan and play on the arcades ofc you can but just to get fucked up by the japs but i have a tekken 6 hori fight stick and many sayes that after a month of beating it would break so my question is wich arcade stick would you recommend p.s. keep up the good job

  4. September 27, 2010 11:55 am

    sorry it was avioding the puddle #7

  5. RREYGUN permalink
    September 27, 2010 6:00 pm

    How come I hear people talking about how one player is better in a tournie and one is better in casuals.. etc.. Whats the difference between your(generally) mindset when playing casuals compared to lets say a tournament or a deathmatch series? Why change your mindset if you could find the best one and use that all the time. I mean wouldnt you wanna win all the time?

  6. Meeu permalink
    September 28, 2010 8:52 pm

    good insight

  7. Meeu permalink
    September 28, 2010 9:24 pm

    No Respect!? what the hell happened!? was Shou there? I’m outdated. anyway good podcast

  8. September 29, 2010 12:48 pm

    The podcast was very good, as always.

    I partially agree with Aris’ opinion on pad players but only partially. To be honest, I cannot use my arcade stick for most fighting games because I have some problems with my spine. I have to change my position when sitting quite often which is very uncomfortable and doesn’t help when playing. I use my AS for Super Street Fighter because I’m using Blanka, which is quite easy to play input-wise.

    I wish I could play Tekken or Soul Calibur but I’ve tried a few times and know that it won’t work 😦

  9. Justin permalink
    September 29, 2010 8:21 pm

    A few episodes back you were talking about back-dash-cancel-SS/Dash, specifically I believe you said “if you can’t do this consistently, don’t even throw a punch until you can”. Taking that advice I jumped into training mode and got to work, and it’s coming along.
    My problem however, is that after working on it all my other movements seem very stiff and uncomfortable. Is this a normal reaction to work through or am I doing something incredibly wrong?

    • September 30, 2010 1:59 am

      The point of working on Korean back dash is to gain full control of your character. You gotta become nimble and ready to capitalize. If you feel yourself getting stiff, you are probably thinking about movement too much. It has to get to the point where you don’t think about it. Also, don’t just do it in P mode. Practice movement against the AI and eventually a Live opponent. Focus on on movement with an emphasis on punishment.

      • Justin permalink
        October 4, 2010 8:21 pm

        Awesome, completely what I was looking to hear

  10. September 30, 2010 11:04 am

    why you need to see different costumes when you have tuns of outfits that you can changes to your character.
    just look at street fighter, all the characters have the same outfits ages ago.
    and look at Soul Caliber which they fucked up the characters look for each new version of the game, and we still miss a lot of old outfits and we wanna see it again.
    I don’t agree with you about changing the outfits, since we have customize option.

  11. tekkenlover permalink
    September 30, 2010 2:42 pm

    ARIS I REALLY WANT TO THANK YOU FOR UPLOADING NEW TEKKEN MATCHES ON YOUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL, ESPECIALLY RYAN HART VS MYK, THAT WAS A GREAT MATCH KEEP THEM COMING BRO,

  12. tekkenlover permalink
    September 30, 2010 2:45 pm

    and of course your game against ao was the best upload, i remember you played this guy in tokyo, i saw the video of it. he also played vs knee.

  13. Devil Kazuya permalink
    September 30, 2010 8:58 pm

    Remmeber the Tekken tag tournament games do not follow the canon storyline. That guy has too be heihachi in the trailer just a very young version. I assume this game will be taking place around tekken 2/3 era to include all the characters. Or perhaps it just gives Namco the liberty to make the characters any ages they want.

    Damn Kaz better get devil form back in this game. With sick morphing juggles

  14. McYaballow permalink
    October 1, 2010 12:27 am

    Can you guys elaborate on why you think ring-out in fighting games sucks?

    • Zacban permalink
      October 7, 2010 4:27 am

      Cause nothing encourages random wins more than ring-outs. I just don’t see it happening in Tekken (or rather I really hope it doesn’t happen) as a lot of other factors would have to change. Like Nina, Bruce or Lees wall carries.. would be totally overpowered if they could just carry you to a ringout. Som might argue that if you get stuck to a wall you’re also pretty fucked, but it’s not a 100% sure loss if you get wall carried. A ringout is.

      I won’t even get into the whole “who touched the ground first” BS….

  15. Quadrupledragon permalink
    October 1, 2010 7:59 am

    So I’ve just been watching the Tekken Crash Royal Rumble and the Avoiding the Puddle youtube videos and it made me realize how awesome it would be if you guys did english commentary for Tekken Crash, either on the fly or analyzing them afterwards. I’m sure I’m not the first one to have this thought.

    I know guys are already busy with podcasts, LUYG, tournaments e.t.c. so it’s understandable if you think it’s a shitty idea.

  16. The Invincible permalink
    October 3, 2010 7:13 pm

    Hi Aris. I would really appreciate if you could ask this to Markman. Is Madcatz planning to create sticks that have PS2 backwards compatibility in the near future? Thanks and more power!

  17. theunholy1978 permalink
    October 4, 2010 2:10 am

    WCG footage was hilarious! Aris showing no mercy to those commentators. That was exquisite!

  18. Asuka permalink
    October 4, 2010 3:44 am

    Hey Aris, I really enjoy listening to you give your thoughts about the characters in tekken. I was wondering, what do you think about Asuka? I rarely hear any pro players speak about her, so if you could give your thoughts about her, that would be great. Thanks

  19. MattChung permalink
    October 4, 2010 9:26 am

    Hey Aris and MYK!
    I know theres already a post up on TZ about this but i was wondering about what your opinions are on tag combinations for TTT2 and your own personal tag combinations.
    Say a Bruce/Bryan – Wall Carry/Wall Damage
    or say Yoshimitsu/Lars – Tech Traps/Punishment + Offense (Just because i main Yoshi)
    In contrast both combinations where Bruce/Bryan compliment each others strengths, whilst Yoshimitsu/Lars cover weak areas of their game.
    Also which new characters are you guys looking forward to most and do you also think that there will be much story development?
    Think thats about all… 🙂

  20. October 7, 2010 4:47 pm

    great PodCast – – –
    Mon~ why didn’t u take us to carrot? lol jk

    with regard to the pad play, I’m a pad fag, I get blown up by Dinosaur a lot for it cause I even use confags –
    Yeah, my history for playing pad like that is because in South Africa there never was and still isn’t an arcade scene. I’ve been playing since T3 and unfortunately the latest version of Tekken we have in our arcades here are T4. :/

    So I went to live and play in London, and there was an arcade scene, but even that was expensive, and to ‘unlearn’ to play pad after playing that way for years and years just wasn’t happening. I bought an Original Namco stick – AC and Ryan told me to get that and they were using one at the time…….. it felt like I was learning the whole game over again. lol

    So to this day – I am unfortunately a confag – and Europe was/is cool, it’s very console session based like S.A is, so I could play there.

    I was recently in the Japanese arcades – and if you’re not a stick player, you’ll get fucked up frustrated in those places.
    For anyone buying/making a stick ——— I’ve just bought and received a Myoungshin Stick from Korea… and we bough a set of buttons and shit from GremlinUK too
    use Laugh’s Site etokki – http://www.etokki.com/
    http://www.gremlinsolutions.co.uk/

    Yeah so GieRoadSteve, one of the guys that jams at our sessions has made himself a bit of a custom stick and he was using a Sanwa stick before (square gates as opposed to the Myoungshin’s No gate, plane circle)… After speaking to Murakumo who wasn’t long ago playing a season in GreenGreen Arcade – – – Murakumo suggested Myoungshin 4 life.

    GRS is pretty new to Tekken as are most of the other guys that I persuaded to join and it’s so nice to see that about 90% of them are learning to play the game – and learning to play stick at the same time.
    I believe it’s very important to be in the beginner phases with both stick and system while learning as opposed to learning the system with another input device for years and then all of a sudden dropping that and playing stick.

    GRS shat his pants with glee over the Myoungshin – thanks Mura

    Something else I enjoyed in London – and Aris will probably blow me up over this – but I enjoyed the PadPorts that we could just plug our PS2 conty’s into back in DR days and we didn’t have to
    A. be and look fucking retarded on a stick when we didn’t know how to use them…
    B. miss out on any of the arcade action…

    I was fucking heart broken sitting there at arcades in Japan watching multi ninja blow shit up and knowing there was jack I could do about it.
    All i was thinking was – fuck I wish it had those pad ports… they’re possible, we’ve had them, I don’t mind still playing on a PS2 controller if they have to be old school and there is no tech for PS3 support…… but just give me a fuckin match on pad.

    I would have pumped so many 100 fucken yennies into machines if T6 had pad support….. but at the same time…. what Japanese player is gonna want to or need to rock up there with a pad?

    Yeah, I guess if Harada-sama looked into pad ports again, esp. in Japan, it would just be as a fan service to people like me.

    I will +1 to the idea of pad ports though – it shouldn’t be about leaving anyone out, esp. if the tech is available…

  21. thee kyon o1 permalink
    November 3, 2010 5:53 pm

    @bronson

    I’ve read GM’s formspring and he said that your win against him at MLG is a fluke? So wanna money match him MLG DC?

Trackbacks

  1. Fighting Game Podcast Roundup 09-29-10

Leave a Reply

