Skip to content

Level Up Your Game -Episode 5- Asuka Kazama

October 7, 2010

Level Up Your Game - Insomnotek

We’re back with another episode of Level Up Your Game! This time we brought Asuka expert Charles ‘Insomnotek’ Kim on the show to guide us through all the pro’s and con’s of using Asuka Kazama.




16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 10:23 am

    Yes!!
    I’ve been waiting for this.

  2. rinoH permalink
    October 7, 2010 3:10 pm

    too gdlk

  3. Wing permalink
    October 7, 2010 5:19 pm

    i diddnt know Insomnotek could f2!

  4. Deadlywolf permalink
    October 7, 2010 7:32 pm

    What is the best way to practice chickening reversals?

    I’ve lost to a lot of Asuka players because one of my main games is using mids in fear of being crushed. I use Jin, and I use high/ mid mix ups because it’s one of his biggest strengths. But how am I going to effectively do this if Asuka’s reversal counters high pokes and mids?

    I’m a little suprised how you don’t go indepth with chickening.

    Can you chicken Asuka’s reversal on reaction?

    I’ve tried baiting reversals, using lows and hellsweeps, to take advantage of the reversals. But I feel this is making me not play as solid if the Asuka player is smart. That reversal is making me change the way I play, based on baiting that reversal. I just wish I can just chicken it, but training mode doesn’t really have a solid feature into practicing chickens.

    Because If I just bait all day, the Asuka player would be more offensive, and I don’t like that. It makes me want to grab more, but her high crush game is solid. I’ve lost to Asuka in a tournament in finals. Baiting just doesn’t cut it for me.

    I sometimes think Asuka’s reversal is a weird effort by Namco to buff her from Tekken 5 and previous tekken games.

    • Djernaes permalink
      October 7, 2010 9:42 pm

      …and here I was thinking you couldn’t actually chicken reversals with Asuka I thought she was a special case as is with Marduk’s reversals and king’s when hitting with kicks. Could be wrong though

      I’ll test it out later.

      Anyway, I think it’s really just all about anticipation. You would have to be pretty quick to do it on reaction. With some characters I will actually buffer some moves that are reversed a lot, almost like a chicken baiting trap. With some people I will intentionally throw out moves to trick them to reverse. It’s a good psychological trick, though not as effective now that they voice got removed.

      In the end it doesn’t really matter and most people don’t bother because the reward for getting a chicken is pretty minuscule. I would like to see them do something with it in the future, a little more reward would be nice.

      • Djernaes permalink
        October 8, 2010 3:02 am

        No, I was mistaken not sure why I thought that, they are reversible.

    • Quadrupledragon permalink
      October 8, 2010 3:54 am

      If I’m expecting a reversal I’ll usually do the chicken during the animation just to be safe. Of course, that gets a little more difficult if you’re using something like a string.

      I guess you could also mix in some b3 since it’s a knee and can’t be reversed. Can she reverse f4? It’s been a while since I’ve played Jin, but you could easily buffer in a chicken during f4.

    • Rip permalink
      October 8, 2010 6:03 pm

      This is a good point. This would’ve probably been the best episode to really go into chickens. Whoops. We did talk about it though and insomnotek says that chickens aren’t going to stop him from using the counter. This means that chickening is more of a defensive strategy than an anti-Asuka strategy. Btw, I’m pretty sure we covered chickens in episode 1 when we covered counters.

    • Sharog permalink
      October 10, 2010 6:02 am

      Throwing Reversals out in the open is a big risc it self, as any reversal that didnt connect leaves u vulnerable enough to be launched. with this risc / reward in mind, as long as u can anticipate 1 out of 3 reversals and punish it properly u do break it even. Asuka’s reversal is no different eventhough u can extend her reversal frames to almost 2 seconds if u wish. The best way however to avoid getting reversed is simply mix up your “Timing of attacks”. This is a rather essential skill to master when playing a poking character like jin. In sf3s’ parry system shares a similar feature, a defensive move that is able to counter everything, how ever in order to properly parry u have to guess when the attack of your opponent will land. when u guess wrong u get hit instead.

  5. tekkenlover permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:32 pm

    great job guys, bring aris next time to talk about dragunov, and breaks down his moves list

  6. tekkenlover permalink
    October 9, 2010 5:16 am

    hey i was watching for pac man video and i ran to this, group of people dress as pacman in public and piss people off it’s freaking funny
    http://www.youtube.com/user/nqtv#p/u/2/pIrvpn3k9A4

  7. Wing permalink
    October 13, 2010 12:29 am

    btw they forgot kaz df2~EWGF

  8. October 14, 2010 5:50 pm

    Loved Kazuya’s Doriya! when used as a punish example! Next time add some other ones like Jin or Heihachi’s EWGF. The Jin version will especially bring back memories for those who started playing since Tekken 4.

  9. djernaes permalink
    October 15, 2010 6:22 am

    Why? Kazuya’s is the iconic one. and better than the others due to mist step

Trackbacks

  1. Level Up Your Game – Asuka Kazama! « SDTEKKEN.COM – Tekken News Resource!
  2. Portal Versus – Games » Level Up Your Game: Asuka Kazama - Dicas, Táticas, guias, tutoriais e campeonatos de jogos de luta. Sempre ao encontro do mais forte.

Leave a Reply

